Friday , March 22 2019
Home / India / Petrol Pumps to be shut on Sundays from May 14th
Petrol Pumps to be shut on Sundays from May 14th
Petrol Pumps to be shut on Sundays from May 14th

Petrol Pumps to be shut on Sundays from May 14th

Starting May 14, petrol pumps will be closed in eight states every Sunday. The decision came through on Tuesday after Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s call to conserve oil on his show “Mann Ki Baat”, said a fuel pump owners’ body in Chennai.

These eight states are Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Puducherry, Karnataka, Kerala, Telangana, Maharashtra and Haryana.

“The association’s decision was made in a view of the Prime Minister’s call to conserve oil to save the environment during his recent “Mann Ki Baat” programme. We had planned to do this a few years back. But oil marketing companies had then requested us to reconsider our decision. Now we have decided to go ahead and shut the outlets on Sundays,” said Suresh Kumar, the vice-president of Tamil Nadu Petroleum Dealers Association

Suresh, also an executive committee member of the consortium of Indian petroleum dealers, said nearly 20,000 outlets in these eight states would be shut for 24 hours on Sundays, beginning May 14.

He added “If we do not operate on a Sunday, in Tamil Nadu, we are expecting a business loss of Rs150 crore. But also we have been seeing a decline in sales by up to 40%, on Sundays,”

Upon being asked if the decision was backed by the OMCs (oil marketing companies), he said, “We will communicate our decision to them shortly.”

Kumar said “To provide fuel in case of an emergency one staff member instead of 15 will be there at the petrol pump on Sundays.”



About Gagan Kaur Cheema

Check Also

Pornographic video at Rajiv Chowk metro Station

Pornographic Video at the busiest Rajiv Chowk Station

In a bizarre incident at Rajiv Chowk metro station, which is the busiest metro station …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *